Overcoming Cerebral Palsy
Help for People with Disabilities

About Me

 

Viktoriya Gorelik, author of Overcoming Cerebral Palsy . Com

I am Viktoriya Gorelik. I was born in 1972 in the city of Kharkov, Ukraine. After the birth, I was diagnosed with Cerebral Palsy. My family and my friends were able to convince me that I was a full-fledged person, and even more - a unique personality.

When I was eight years old, I was sent to a special school. Honestly, I was not very good at studying, but was able to observe people, and even began to write poetry. After graduation, I joined the Finance and Economic College and successfully completed it.

In the mid-nineties in our city, and throughout Ukraine, clubs for physically challenged people were set up. I became an active participant of this movement.

In 1998 I came to the United States for permanent residence. I can not say that I was completely lonely because my older brother had lived in New York by this time. Yet I overcame the difficulties of immigration, adaptation to new life, physical, psychological, linguistic and other barriers by myself.

In 2001, my parents came to the USA too. Then I was admitted to Kingsborough Community College. I graduated from a business school majoring bookkeeping.

Now, I am a student of the Institute of Marketing and Business on the Internet. With the help of my mentors and teachers Anna Levinson, Michael Mataev and Yuri Mataev, I created a site "Overcoming Cerebral Palsy". This site will help people understand and help themselves and others. In the nearest future, I plan to get another major, psychology.

Besides, I have a dream, a very big dream: I want to establish a center of communication, assistance and training for people with disabilities. This center will use the best of American and European techniques, and non-traditional methods. I want to help people change their perception of thmselves and change their lives.

View Comments

My way.

On November 4, 2013, 15 years ago, I came to the United States for permanent residence. I came here without a parent, to my brother , who had just divorced from his wife and stayed in a nearly empty apartment. I was 28 years old, and after such a life as it was in Kharkov, where every dogs knew me and my family to start from scratch ,  in a foreign country , without knowing language and no money in my position with a physical problem,  was  nearly impossible.



Donations

Please donate; the money goes to maintaining this website and to help people living with cerebral palsy.
Donation $:

List of Sponsors
Mailing List
Learn about the latest updates.